Coalesce – Ox

oxI have to admit that I hade never really listened to Coalesce prior to their most recent album, “OX”. I’ve heard a lot about them and their influence, but for whatever reason, I never really gave them a chance. After listening to “Ox”, I think I may have to go and pick up there other records.  If they’re anything like “Ox”, I’m sure I will like them.

 The music is fast, heavy and technical, lots of riffs and lots of punishing beats.  But at the same time, there is a real depth to the music.  While the songs are heavy, there is always a groove to the rhythm that pulls the song along. In addition, the various melodic and acoustic breaks throughout gives the album some breathing room.

 

The only thing I’m not 100% on are the vocals, the screaming is not really my usual cup of tea, but in this case, they work well with music. If you like your music heavy, I would suggest picking this one up right away.

~ by silentium1 on June 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
