Del the Funky Homosapien and Tame One – Parallel Uni-Verses

del tameThe Artifacts was one of my favorite groups of the mid-90’s, I still break out their albums on a regular basis. Over the years since the group broke up, Tame One has dropped several solo albums; however, nothing really lived up to those Artifacts releases.

I was a huge fan of Del’s first two albums, but over the last few years, Del has been a bit disappointing to me, he had a few good tracks here and there, but overall, I haven’t really felt his music for a while. Funny thing though, I still always check out whatever Del puts out, guess I’m subconsciously hoping he’ll impress me once again.

So when I first heard that Del and Tame One were releases a joint effort, I was intrigued but didn’t expect much, I had to check it out anyway. Glad I did, it’s actually a pretty good album.

The album has a classic old school lo-fi feel to it. The beats, all produced by Parallel Thought, are dusty and are full of tight soul samples. Lyrically, it’s also on the early 90’s vibe. It’s mostly braggadocios, yet the rhymes creative and original.

If your looking to capture a bit of that classic, golden years of hip hop vibe, this is a great place to start.

~ by silentium1 on October 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
