Elect the Dead Symphony

Serj Tankian’s “Elect the Dead” was one of my favorite releases of 2007 and it still gets played regular to this day.  It was a great follow up to his work with System of a Down.  It also has a great sound, very melodic and diverse music.  Around that time, I was listening to lot of symphonic black metal bands, as well as S & M from Metallica and I remember thinking that “Elect the Dead” would sound great with a symphony behind it.

So it wasn’t without some elation that I just found out that Serj recently performed the album with the Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra and the performance will be released on CD/DVD and on double Vinyl in March.

Check out the website:

http://download.wbr.com/serjtankian/splash/

It’s actually one of the coolest websites I’ve seen in a while.  The interactivity is pretty unique, plus the artwork is cool. 

Now I just have to decide which version to get, sure I want the DVD, but I have pretty much committed myself to only buying vinyl…I might just have to pick up both.

~ by silentium1 on January 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
