Gil Scott-Heron – I’m New Here

I have been a big fan of Gil Scott-Heron for a long time, probably since I heard the Masta Ace song “Take A Look Around”, which sampled “The Revolution Will Not Be Televised.”  He has had many great songs, and has always had a way of telling it like it his, whether it was on the aforementioned “The Revolution…” or on “Whitey on The Moon,” he always was able to paint a poignant picture of real life.

While he is primarily known as a spoken-word artist and one of the forefathers of rap, he was also a talented singer and musician.  His poems and songs always had a great backdrop of jazz and soul that enhanced his message.

Now after 13 years, he is releasing a new album, “I’m New Here” on electronic music label XL Recordings.  The album takes a new direction with its electronic based production.  With the dub-step vibe of “Your Soul and Mind”, the acoustic guitar on the title track or the low-fi hip-hop of the first single “Me and the Devil,” breaks new ground for Scott-Heron.  While I always loved the jazz/funk vibe of his previous recordings, this new sound works well with his voice, which has aged a bit and is quite as smooth as it once was.

I know it’s a bit early, but I am betting “I’m New Here” will be on my best of 2010 list.

~ by silentium1 on January 18, 2010.

One Response to “Gil Scott-Heron – I’m New Here”

  1. Totally agree with you, isn’t he brilliant and substantive!

Leave a Reply

 
