New Music

Came across some new music over the weekend:

Souvenir’s Young America – The Name of The Snake
Excellent album and I will be checking out their back catalog. Imagine Pelican and Red Sparowes got together and did some covers of Earth, but with a harmonica added to the mix, this is about what you’d end up with. Solid, melodic and heavy instrumental metal.

Haken – Aquarius
Opeth pretending to be Tool doing Genesis covers of songs about mermaids? Not bad, but it hasn’t pulled me in yet, it may take a couple of listens, but at the movement I’m just not interested enough to listen again.

Dutch – A Bright Cold Day
Pretty good down tempo modern soul in the vein of Portishead. I like the sound and while the singer’s voice isn’t the strong, it works well with the music. Very somber, rainy day kind of music.

Black Sun Aeon – Routa
Some decent, gothic black metal. I hear some Celtic Frost influence. I like the clean vocals. The band is Finish and the album was recording over the winter and it sounds like it. Very sad and cold, yet there is a warm atmosphere overall.

Castevet – Mounds of Ash
Thrashy black metal, not very impressive, especially after recent releases by Nachtmystium, Twilight and Ttriptykon.

I also heard advances of the new Eminem and the new Roots albums.

How I Got Over by the Roots is not bad. At first I wasn’t that impressed, but as I moved in the core of the album, it started sounding much better. Radio Daze and How I Got Over are the tracks that stand out most for me. I don’t know if it was the advance copy I heard, but the overall the mix sounded off, there also seems to be a lot of guests. The Roots are at their best when the band just plays and Black Thought just spits.

Em’s new one is boring for the most part, the music sounds like everything else on the radio these days, the rhymes sound phoned in. The only exceptions are Space Bound and the final, untitled track; both are not bad, but not really great either

~ by silentium1 on June 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
