Best of 2010

I keep a “Best of the Year” folder that I save copies of the albums I think are great throughout the year. Currently I have 22 albums in there.   It’s now that time of year to actually go through that list and decide which ones make the top ten cut. Not an easy process, but one worth doing. 

As I tried to narrow down my top ten list for 2010, I decided I needed to determine some new criteria, so as I sat here thinking about what would it take to determine that a specific album deserves to be on the list.  Is it the technical prowess of the musicians?  Is it the artistic integrity of the music? There are so many things that could be used to judge these albums.  Well, what I decided on was something simple: did the album inspire me to keep listening to it throughout the year! My reasoning? Simply, if it’s really a great album, I’ll keep coming back to it.  Now some may suffer because they were released early in the year, but again, if it’s really that great… Seriously, think about it… I continually break out albums by Tool, Rage, Mingus, De La Soul, that are more then 5 or 10 or even 20 years old.  Why, ‘cause they’re great. 

So anyway, here we go.  First up is a list of 12 albums from the 22 albums in my “Best of …” folder.  These are all great albums, but for whatever reason, they just did not keep me coming back throughout the year, these are in no particular order.

B. Dolan – Fallen House Sunken City
Blockhead – The Music Scene
Burzum – Belus
Les Discrets – Septembre Et Ses dernieres Pensees
Man’s Gin – Smiling Dogs
Negura Bunget – Virstele Pamintului
Red Sparowes – The Fear is Excruciating, But Therein Lies The answer
Suma – Ashes
The Chieftains Feat. Ry Cooder – San Patricio
Trap Them – Filth Rations
Yakuza – Of Seismic Consequence
Zoroaster – Matador

Over the next few days I will post my top ten of 2010.

~ by silentium1 on December 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
