#1 Ludicra – The Tenant & Agalloch – Marrow of the Spirit

I really was unable to decide between these two albums, so I decided to include both in the top spot.  Since I first heard “The Tenant” many months ago, it has not left my side and I listen to it several times a week.  This album was the epitome of my criteria this year, if I wasn’t listening to it, I was probably comparing whatever I was listening to to it, and rarely did anything stand up to it.  The music is powerful, the vocals are harsh and beautiful and the artwork was perfect.  This was truly an album of the year.

While only a few weeks old, “Marrow of the Spirit” was the first album to make me forget about “The Tenant”, at least for a few moments. While time may tell if this was truly the best of 2010, for the moment it surely is.  The music is powerful, emotional, melancholy and beautiful, and it has actually been very fitting the last few days considering the weather out here.

~ by silentium1 on December 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
