Miles Davis – Bitches Brew: 40th Anniversary Collector’s Edition

I received one of the greatest Christmas presents of all time form a very close friend, the recently released 40th Anniversary Edition of the Miles Davis classic “Bitches Brew.”  This has long been one of my favorite records and this edition is incredible.  It comes with the original version of the album on CD, a bonus disc of alternate versions of the album tracks, another CD of a live performance, a DVD of a live performance, a full color 12”x12” booklet featuring extended liner notes and an essay about the album, a packet that includes a reprint of a Rolling Stone cover and article, a poster, ticket reprints and some photos and last but not least the full album re-mastered on 180gram vinyl. All of this comes housed in a nice box set that fits perfectly with my other records.

I remember the first time I heard this record, I wasn’t impressed.  At the time I was still fairly new to jazz and I really wasn’t sure what to make of the free jazz styling’s and the electronic instruments.  However, as my tastes and my understanding of jazz developed, “Bitches Brew” quickly became one of my all time favorite albums.  I think is a masterful work of experimentation and creativity. 

Since Christmas, the vinyl has yet to leave my turntable, so thank you Wil for a much treasured gift that means the world to me.

~ by silentium1 on January 10, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
