Earth – Angels of Darkness, Demons of Light 1

I celebrated my 30-something birthday a few weeks ago, and since I spent the day driving to Utah and going to a funeral, I really didn’t have time to do anything. So, I decided I needed to do something special for myself and I ordered me a record. After two weeks, it finally showed up yesterday. It was the new album “Angels of Darkness, Demons of Light 1” by the band Earth. I ordered it directly from Southern Lord, which you may remember is my favorite label these days.  Since I ordered from them, I got the Red vinyl version.

Not only is it an incredible album, the packaging is, once again, impeccable.  180 gram double vinyl.  Heavy weight gatefold jacket. Beautiful artwork and there an etching of the artwork on the 4th side of the LP, and a poster of the album art as well. And as if that wasn’t enough, the guys at Southern Lord threw in posters for Boris, Sunn 0))), Om and the new Weedeater album.

Thank you Earth for putting out a great record and thank you Southern Lord for doing the record justice with the packaging.

As a little bonus, here is the review I recently wrote for the next issue of Obscene, which should be out shortly.

Earth is one of those bands that have been around forever, but few people really seem to know of them; although it is a strong bet that the guys in any one of your favorite metal bands worship Earth. In fact, a young Kirk Cobain made one of his first vocal appearances on an early Earth record long before anyone heard of Nirvana. So they have a long and storied career, but one with little fanfare outside of the extreme metal scene.  Over their last few releases, a western Americana vibe has permeated their drone metal sound and on their latest release, “Angels of Darkness, Demons of Light pt I”, it has reached a state of perfection. Earth’s music is heavy, but slow. Very slow! It moves along at glacial speeds that allow each sound to resonate before the next one hits you, but the melody and tones pull you along in a way that it never drags or feels slow.  This is simply a piece of beautiful, atmospheric music that all should hear.

~ by silentium1 on March 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
