R.I.P. Gil Scott-Heron

I’m still a little dismayed by the fact that Gil Scott-Heron passed away last week.  This was someone’s who work I admired and have been genuinely influenced by.  His poetry, his music and his political statements always resonated with me.  His last release, “I’m New Here” was a beautiful album, one that captured the soul of a damaged man who had battled his demons and won, but at a severe cost. The vulnerability and honestly displayed were leaps and bounds beyond what most artist are capable of.

I am also disappointed because I have actually been working on getting some questions together in the hope that I was able to interview the man, but unfortunately, I moved too slowly.

So here is to Gil Scott-Heron…A Poet and A Musician who was able to capture the human spirit but was untimely brought down before his time by his demons.

~ by silentium1 on May 31, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
