2011 Wrap Up

I posted my best of list a few weeks ago and meant to go back and expand on some of the selections, but with the holidays and a debilitating pinched nerve in my back, I just never got around to it. However, before the New Year rolls around, I wanted to make a few comments.

As I look at my list, I’m pretty satisfied with it. SubRosa is still my favorite album, but I did leave off Weedeater and With Mountain, both of which deserve to be in the Top Twenty. Also, I think So Hideous My Love should probably have been higher. Their album “To Clasp A Fallen Wish with Broken Fingers” was released on vinyl earlier in the year and was recently issued on CD.  This is truly a beautiful record, its mix of harsh, post-rock infused black metal, hardcore and classical makes for a powerful listen.

2012 looks like it could be a good year.  In the first quarter, we’ll see new release3s form Lamb of God, Earth, Pallbearer, Orange Goblin, Christian Mistress, Corrosion of Conformity and Saint Vitus. Ancestors have their new one scheduled for an April release and Volto has been recording.  But really, all I need is a new Tool record to make my year, so hopefully their new one will see the light of day in 2012.

As for SilasLikesMusic, I’ve some new plans and a new project in the works that will hopefully come to fruition in the early part of the year. In addition, Obscene is making some moves that could prove to be very beneficial. So 2012 could be a great year.

So have a happy and safe New Year, I’ll see you in 2012.

~ by silentium1 on December 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
