Crown – The One

Being a fairly small blog, I often have to request promos and I find that I spend quite a bit of time searching out bands and PR people, requesting I be added to PR Wires, asking for promos and trying to arrange interviews; so it’s kinda of refreshing when a band hits me up for a review.  It gives my ego a little boost, makes me feel like I’m doing something right here, and it’s even more rewarding when the band ends up being as good as the French duo Crown. These guys got together during the summer of 2011 and have quickly delivered their debut EP “The One.”

With their heavily experimental take on sludge, “The One” is an excellent album, one that draws considerably from the likes of Godflesh & Jesu, Sunn 0))) and Neurosis, all the while sounding unique. Heavy riffs clash against ambient sounds and harsh vocals counter the softer, clean vocals, creating what the press release calls a “universe in perpetual tension, abruptly cut off by gentle and melancholic melodies, an unusual moment of respite, by prolonged immersion in their obscure experiments;” a perfect description, particularly the words tension, melancholic and immersion. The music is beautiful, yet there’s a tension to it that creates a heavy, somber atmosphere, one the pulls you into a trance, immersing you in their world. I’m all about the atmosphere and emotional response created by music and this is one of those rare albums that truly moves me, making my soul tremble a bit.

With stellar releases so far this year by Earth, Pallbearer, Christian Mistress and Syven, amongst others, the fact that “the One” has remained on my play list constantly since I got it shows what an excellent record it is and it is sure to be around as I make my best of 2012 list.

~ by silentium1 on February 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
