Vijay Iyer Trio – Accelerando

With Jazz, I tend to focus on the classics, but there are a few modern players that captivate me and Vijay Iyer is one of those.  I first came across Iyer due to his week several years ago with Mike Ladd, their “In What Language” and “Still Life with Commentator” albums are beautiful and powerful Jazz/Hip-Hop/Spoken Word masterpieces.  Since hearing those albums, I’ve tried to follow Iyers career and have picked up all of his albums and have always been impressed.

With “Accelerando”, Iyer continues with a long stream of excellent releases. Now, I love jazz…I mean I really love jazz.  It’s the most powerful, emotional, spiritual music around. Few artists can truly move my soul the way a great jazz artist can, but I’m also no expert. I do hear a little McCoy Tyner and even some Dave Brubeck, but I really don’t know enough to truly speak about his influences and the school of Jazz he comes from. But what I can tell you is that this album is truly moving.  The songs have a depth that is lacking in most modern music. Iyers playing is so fluid, it weaves in and out of the wonderful rhythm section provided by bassist Stephan Crump and drummer Marcus Gilmore.

So with that all said, just go buy the album, you will not be disappointed.

~ by silentium1 on April 17, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
