Hexer – Hexer

relic46

Once again, our friends at Gilead Media have presented us with another outstanding record, this one from Philadelphia based black metal trio Hexer. I don’t know much about the band but they deliver a solid slab of classic thrash infused Norwegian styled black metal. It’s a lo-fi mix of dark, nihilistic chaos.

This type of records is actually difficult for me to review, I absolutely love it but my knowledge of black metal is somewhat limited, having only really gotten into it over the last few years, which makes it hard to compare or contrast with the genre’s classics. But what I do know is that every time I’ve listened to the promo, I have fallen into a dark trance, completely oblivious to those around me, my mind swirling in a chaotic frenzy.

I’ve said it before, but what I truly love about black metal is its power to engulf your mind and draw you into its own dark little world, a harsh, bleak world full of death and destruction, yet one full of beautiful decay. Hexer does just that here. Through swirling riffs, frantic drumming and harsh growling screams, the listener is drawn into a world where humanity Is falling about through its own actions, a world streaming towards its own annihilation.

This release combines the bands cassette eps from 2011 on 180 gram vinyl. Limited to 300 copies. Preorders will be up soon at gileadmedia.net

~ by silentium1 on August 8, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
